What to see in Lublin

 

Maria Curie-Sklodowska University in Lublin


more
Maria Curie-Sklodowska University (Uniwersytet Marii Curie-Skłodowskiej, commonly shortened to UMCS) was founded October 23, 1944 in Lublin. It is named in honour of Marie Curie-Sklodowska. Currently the number of students is almost 36,000.

Lublin Railway Station in Lublin


more
Lublin Station is the most important railway station in Lublin. It is sometimes referred to as Lublin Glowny (Lublin Main), to distinguish it from two other (much smaller) stations located in Lublin. The main station building was opened in 1877, together with the Vistula River Railroad, which connected Warsaw with...

Trolleybuses in Lublin


more
Lublin is one of Poland’s three cities that still operate a regular trolleybus line. Other two cities are Tychy and Gdynia. One of the Soviet ZIU trolleybuses owned by the Municipal Public Transport Company (MPK) was renovated in 2003. The old regular seats were taken out, and restaurant tables were installed,...

Chachmei Lublin Yeshiva in Lublin


more
Founded by Rabbi Meir Shapiro, the Chachmei Lublin Yeshiva, (Jesziwat Chachmei Lublin), was an important centre for Torah study in Poland. On May 22–28, 1924, the cornerstone laying ceremony took place for the construction of the yeshiva building. Approximately 20,000 people participated in the event.

Lublin Holocaust Memorial in Lublin


more
The Holocaust Memorial in Lublin (Pomnik ku czci masowej eksterminacji ludnosci zydowskiej, Pomnik ofiar getta) commemorates the Jewish inhabitants of the city who were killed during the Holocaust. It was unveiled in 1963.

Botanic Garden in Lublin


more
The University of Maria Curie-Sklodowska Botanic Garden Lublin is a research and educational centre in Poland . It is located in the eastern part of the country, in one of the most significant Polish cities, in Lublin . The UMCS Botanic Garden Lublin is a part of the Maria Curie Sklodowska University (UMCS) in...

The Former Lublin Industrialists Bank-The Grand Hotel in Lublin


more
The Lublin Industrialists Bank (Kasa Przemyslowcow Lubelskich) was established in 1884 by the owners of the largest factories at that time: Adolf Frick – owner of a brewery, Emilian Domanski – owner of a tannery, Edward Krausse – owner of a mill, and August Vetter – owner of a brewery and a malt house. The...

The Union of Lublin Monument in Lublin


more
The monument was erected in 1826, thanks to the efforts of Stanislaw Staszic. A cast-iron obelisk cast in Kielce Steelworks is decorated with a bas-relief depicting two people shaking hands.

Morski Family Palace in Lublin


more
In the 19th century, a number of palaces with backyard gardens were located on Krakowskie Przedmiescie Street, in the vicinity of the Evangelical Church. One of the oldest was the Morski family palace from the late 18th century. The reconstruction of the palace ordered by Count Ignacy Moscicki turned it into a...

The Old Town Market Square in Lublin


more
The Old Town Market Square is the central point and the best known place in Lublin. It used to be a historical centre of the city. It was located on the outskirts of the old stronghold, near the former bulwarks, after Lublin had received a city charter from Wladysław the Short, King of Poland.

Czartoryski Palace in Lublin


more
The Baroque Czartoryski Palace was designed by the famous architect of Flanders, Tylman from Gameren, at the turn of the 17th and 18th centuries. In 1728 the palace was rebuilt by Franciszek Magiera. Later on, the palace was owned by the Lubomirski and Sienawski families. Eventually, thanks to the family...

Europa Hotel in Lublin


more
The eclectic hotel was built in 1865-67, according to a design of Ludwik Szamota. It was patterned after Europejski Hotel in Warsaw. Since the very beginning, it was considered extremely elegant, modern, well-equipped and well-staffed. The Michelson family willed the building to the Lublin Society of Good Will. The...

Building of the Crown Tribunal in Lublin


more
The Crown Tribunal building, formerly the Old City Hall, is located in the centre of the Old Town Market Square. The construction of the city hall was commenced right after Lublin was granted a city charter on August 15, 1317. The building is surrounded from both sides by curvilinear streets that reflect the...

Church of the Holy Spirit in Lublin


more
The Church of the Holy Spirit is located next to the city hall, the seat of the Lublin City Office. In the Medieval times, it served as a hospital church and a shelter for the poor, the sick, and the disabled. The then regulations ordered that all hospitals and shelters for the old, the poor, the sick, and the...

Church and Monastery of the Capuchin Order in Lublin


more
The SS. Peter and Paul church and monastery complex in Lublin was founded by Karol Sanguszko, the Court and Grand Marshal of Lithuania, and his wife – Maria Anna, nee Lubomirska. They owned the nearby Lubomirski family palace, situated at Lithuanian Square in Lublin. Following the purchase of a land plot on...

Our Lady of Immaculate Conception Church in Lublin


more
The church and the convent complex was funded by Mikolaj Danillowicz, Great Chamberlain of the Crown, and his wife Zofia, nee Teczynska. The financial support came from the local landowners and townsmen of Lublin. The construction of the complex was finished in 1660. The external appearance of the church (the...

“Under the Lions” Tenement House in Lublin


more
It is located on 9 Rynek Street, on the east side of the market square, known as the Konopnica family side of the Old Town. The original owner of the tenement was Jerzy Organista. While it was owned by its next owners – the Cholewinski family – It was rebuilt in a Renaissance style, around 1600.

Lubomirski Palace in Lublin


more
It is also known as the post-Radziwill palace. According to historical data, the palace was completed in the 16th century. At that time, it was owned by the Firlej family. Afterwards, it was purchased by the Ostrorogski family, and in 1683 by the Lubomirski family. The palace was renovated by the Lubomirski family...

The Cracow Gate in Lublin


more
The Cracow Gate (Brama Krakowska) was built as a part of a fortification system (the walls surrounding the city) during the reign of King Casimir the Great, following a Tatar attack in 1341. It is an architectural symbol of the city. It serves as a passage between the Old Town and the Downtown. At present, it...

State Museum at Majdanek in Lublin


more
The State Museum at Majdanek was founded in November 1944 on the grounds of the former German concentration camp. It is an institution directly subordinated to the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage. In addition to organizing exhibitions, the museum also runs educational and academic activities. Since 2004...

Wincenty Pol Manor House in Lublin


more
Wincenty Pol biographic museum is housed in a classicist country house that was built at the end of the 18th c at a small estate, Firlejowszczyzna near Lublin. The permanent exposition in the historic section of the building presents literary biography of W. Pol, his research in geography and ethnography,...

The Chapel of the Holy Trinity in Lublin


more
The Church of the Holy Trinity called the Chapel of Lublin Castle ranks among the most precious and interesting monuments of Medieval architecture not only in Poland but also in the European context. It is a relic where the two great cultural traditions of the East and the West meet and mingle. The interior of this...

Lublin Museum in Lublin


more
Lublin Museum in Lublin ranks among the oldest and the largest collections in the Eastern part of the country. In 2006 it was celebrating its 100th anniversary. Lublin Museum is an eminent institution in the region between the Vistula and the Bug rivers and also important nation-wide. In its collections of over 157...
 
 
 

This site uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but parts of the site will not work. OK