Sulejów is a town located in the łódzkei region, upon the rivers Pilica and Radońka.
Sulejów was originally part of Lesser Poland, it was a settlement in the Sandomierz land.
The origins of the local settlement are associated with a customs chamber, which existed by the crossing through Pilica. Meanwhile, its development is associated with the Cistercian abbey, which was founded here between 1176 and 1177 by Kazimierz Sprawiedliwy. The abbey was established in the place, which is currently known as the Sub-cloister.
One of the greatest events in the history of the town was a rally which took place between
June 20th and June 23rd 1318. During that rally, the papal conditions were officially accepted, and a decision was made to revive the Polish Kingdom.
Sulejów was located by the trading route from Silesia and Greater Poland to Russia.
The destructions during the Swedish Deluge caused the downfall of the town. In 1819,
the Cistercian abbey was shut down, and Sulejów became a government town. Between 1870
and 1927, Sulejów was deprived of municipal rights and was included into the joint countryside community of Łęczno.
The town of Sulejów became famous for producing calcium, which was originally burned in an artisanal way in earthly furnaces, which were heated up with charcoal. Not far from Sulejów there were rich deposits of limestone. The excavation and burning of limestone became common in the second half of the 19th century.
Most of the calcium floated down Pilica to the Vistula river and further to Warsaw and Gdańsk. Industrial limestone furnaces were created in the last quarter of the 19th century.