The castle in Checiny
The castle in Chęciny is a royal castle from the late 13th and 14th century, towering over the town of Chęciny in the świętokrzyskie region.
There is no certain source data about the establishment of the castle in Chęciny. However, based on the existing documents it is possible to assume, that the construction of the stronghold began in the late 13th century. It is certain, that the castle already existed in 1306, when Władysław Łokietek gave it to the bishop of Kraków, Jan Muskata. But the following year, because of the discovery of a plot against royalty, he revoked this privilege and took control of the stronghold. Łokietek made the castle a territorial center of his power in economic, political and military terms. He moved the administration of the extensive peincely properties from Małogoszcz to Chęciny.
In 1331, the army set off from this place to the battle of Płowce.
After the death of Władysław Łokietek, Kazimierz the Great took control of the stronghold. He transformed the castle into a royal fortress and significantly expanded it. This was the time when the stone walls were elevated, among others. During that period, the king’s second wife – Adelajda – was living in Chęciny.
In the 16th century, the castle began to weaken. In 1588, the seym ordered to move the land books from the stronghold to the church in Chęciny, which was locxated at the foothills of the castle. In 1607, the fortifications were destroyed, and the local buildings were burned. The castle briefly regained its former glory after the reconstruction initiated by Stanisław Branicki – the foreman of Chęciny.