The Guido mine
One of the most popular attractions in the śląskie region, the „Guido” mine, was established in the 1850s. It received its name after its owner, an industrial magnate named Guido Henckel
Up until the 1880s, two shafts were hollowed out – „Guido” and „Kolejowy”. At that time, the „Guido” mine was sold to the country of Prussia. Excavation stopped here in 1928. After
World War II, the Guido mine was included in the area or KWK „Makoszowy”. For a certain time, it was functioning as the M-300 Experimental Coal Mine. Betweeb 1982 and 1996, part of the excavation area became available for tourists. However, the ill-considered decisions of nearby mines lead to problems with ventilation and the closing of the tourist route. Thanks to the government of the city of Zabrze, in 2007 the Guido mine was opened for tourists once again.
You can ride down under the ground to floor 170 and 320, as well as walk down to floor 355.
Floor 170, which is also known as St. Barbara’a floor, concentrates on the difficult work in the mine in the early 20th century – a time of mechanization and technological progress, but also a time of the strongest cult of St. Barbara in the mining of the Upper Silesia. That’s because the patron of miners is an improtant character in this part of the mine. The reality of the miners’ work in the 19th and 20th century mine are presented thanks to the multimedia, which show, among others, shooting with explosive, and water getting into the mine tunnel.