The ruins of the Discalced Carmelites Monastery in Zagórz
The monastery of the Discalced Carmelites in Zagórz was founded by Jan Franciszek Stadnicki, the voivode of Wołyń and the owner of the so-called „Lesko country”. Although we don’t know the foundation act, it is possible to assume, based on the historical documents, that the construction works on this investment began in the late 17th and early 18th century, probably back in the year 1700, and lasted for the next three decades. Right before his death, Stadnicki gave a regular fund to the Carmelites, so they could maintain 12 soldiers of noble origins. On August 24th 1714, the Carmelites were officially introduced to the new foundation by Jan Kazimierz de Alten Bokum, the bishop of Przemyśl, who by the way also dug in the cornerstone under the construction of the church.
As much as the costs of the construction of the monastery complex were the responsibility of Jan Franciszek Stadnicki, the interior and the equipment of the church was largely financed by his daughter, Anna Stadnicka. The construction of the temple was probably finished in 1733, but the residence in Zagórz was already raisded to the rank of the prior seven years earlier. At the same time when the church and the monastery were constructed, the economic buildings were also created, and after the year 1730 – the defensive walls with fortifications were established as well.
The period of the greatness of the Carmelites Monastery in Zagórz lasted until the first partition of Poland. During the Bar Confederation, the monastery became shelter for the insurgents, who were murdered by the Russian army lead by general Iwan Drewicz on November 29th 1772.