The Silesian Museum
The complex of buildings of the Silesian Museum, located at the area of the former „Katowice” Coal Mine, along with other institutions established here, creates the Culture Zone – a new centre of the city’s cultural life. The „Katowice” coal mine was active from the 1830s all the way until the end of hte 20th century. It excavated approximately 120 millions of tons of coal in total. Today, tourists can still admire the characteristic, monumental buildings, many of which were constructed back in the 19th century, and some of the buildings gained the shape resembling the romanesque and gothic style of building.
The mine, which is most recently known under the name „Katowice”, was functioning at the area of Bogucice – the main district of Katowice as we know it today. In the first half of the 19th century, it was a settlement, which was part of the extensive propoerty from the centre in Mysłowice, which was owned by the Mieroszewski family. The mine was first opened in 1823, and among its founders were Ignacy Ferdynand von Beym and Stanisław Mieroszewski. The mine gained the name „Ferdynand” after one of the owners.
The most interesting buildings of the Silesian Museum include the building of the headlamp with a hoist tower of the „Bartosz” shaft from 1883, the engine room of this shaft (with an active steam machine, constructed in 1895), a former power station, built between 1893 and 1895, and the lift tower of the „Warszawa” shaft from the early 20th century.