Kwidzyn – the castle-cathedral complex of the pomesanian chapter
Kwidzyn is located at the farming areas in the wide Valley of the Lower Vistula. It is mostly famous for its castle of the pomesanian bishops. The mighty castle itself is famous for its well-preserved medieval toilet located beyond the castle walls.
The pomesanian diocesec was established in 1243, and 42 years later, the pomesanian chapter was created, which was working at the area that was part of the Teutonic Country. In the late 13th and early 14th century, at the place of the earlier, more humble buildings, the creation of the magnificent seat of the chapter began. The building of the castle, as well as the cathedral of Blessed Virgin Mary and St. John the Evangelist was finished in the second half of the 14th century. In the following centuries, the castle was a headquarters of various offices.
The castle didn’t survive to today in its original form. At the beginning, it was a closed, four-wing building complex with an inner ambulatory courtyard. And four towers in the corners.
Today the castle complex is created by two surviving wings with two corner towers (one of which is the cathedral tower). The most precious element of the complex is the gothic cathedral by the calling of the Blessed Virgin Mary and St. John the Evangelist. The gothic interior is diversified with beautiful, starry vaults and fragments of gothic mosaics and polychromes.
The Kwidzyn Museum, which is a division of the Malbork Castle Museum, is taking care of the castle.