Nałęczów was named after the Małachowski-Nałęcz family, and became popular thanks to the discovery of mineral water springs. Since the middle ages, the area of today’s town of Nałęczów were part of the Bochotnica village. In the mid-18th century the key to Bochotnica was owned by Stanisław Małachwski, while relocating the headquarters of his family and building a palace. The Małachowski Palace in Nałęczów was designed by Jan Ferdynand Nax in an early classicist style.
Nałęczów can easily be considered the most beautiful Lowland health spa in Poland. Similarly to Krynica in the mountains and Sopot by the sea, Nałęczów is ruling the Lowland part of our country. The Małachowski family began building the health spa immediately after gaining the official results of the composition of the springs. In the early 1820, the Łazienki, the Bathing House and the guest house. Before the November Uprising, the Health Spa experienced very intensive development.
In 1878, the Małachowski family sold Nałęczów to Michał Górski, who entrusted three doctors: Fortunat Łowicki, Konrad Chmielewski Wacław Lasocki to take care of the patients.
One of the guests who was strongly associated with Nałęczów was Stefan Żeromski, who was invited by the owner, to educate his children. During his stay, he also met his future wife.
The health spa became the background of the book Ludzie Bezdomni. Nałęczów was also described by Ewa Szelburg-Zarembina and Bolesław Prus.
Today, Nałęczów is still the place, where heart diseases and circulatory system diseases are cured. The health spa of Nałęczów is located between the greens of the Health Park, wich used to surround the Małachowski family’s residence. There are two rivers floweing through the park in picturesque valleys: Bystra and Bochotniczanka.