The Lubomirski Castle in Łańcut
Łańcut is a small, picturesque town, located 217 kilometers away from Rzeszów, the capital of the podkarpackie region. It gained municipal rights during the reign of Kazimierz the Great, and until 1586, it was owned by the Pilecki family. Between 1586 and 1628, Łańcut was owned by the Stadnicki family. The castle in Łańcut was built between 1629 and 1641 for prince Stanisław Lubomirski, who was one of the greatest magnates of Poland in those times. Around the representative and mighty palace, the strengthened bastion fortifications were built, which however lost their meaning in the second half of the 18th century.
The blooming of the residence and the change of its function is associated with the activity of Elżbieta Izabeli Lubomirska from the Czartoryski family. The duchess ordered the interior to be rebuilt and modernized. During the 63-year reign of the Duchess, the castle was the centre of culturtal life. This was the location of a music and theatre stage, which was visited by excellent guests. The castle was owned by the Potocki family until the end of World War II. In the early 20th century, Roman Potocki rebuilt ans modernized the residence once again. At that time, numerous buildings were created, including the neo-renaissance facade, th Italian Garden, the Rose Garden and the Palm House. The residence is one of the few places in Poland that survived the wartime destruction.
The castle-park complex in Łańcut is one of the best preserved original residences in Poland. The castle has a form of a square with an inner courtyard and corner towers.