The Sobótka-Górka Castle
The history of the castle in Sobótka-Górka began in the 12th century. At that time, the first chapel designed specifically for Augustinians was created, which was later rebuilt for a parish church. In the undergrounds of the castle foundations of the tower and the walls were discovered, which suggest, that at a certain point, the monastery might have been fortified. Between 1523 and 1553 the church was expanded by a living area, which kept extending until 1585. In the third quarter of the 19th century the post-monastery complex in Sobótka-Górka was rebuilt for a neo-renaissance residence based on a project of an architect from Wrocław, Wilhelm Rhenius.
There are legends of the mysterious undergrounds surrounding the castle. The truth is that there is an underground tunnel leading to a nearby brewery, the entrances were clear even after the war, but currently there is nothing left behind them.
The 19th century neo-renaissance castle was built on a lan similar to a rectangle, the building is dominated by a two-storey church in the eastern part.
The elevations of the building are partially plastered, the walls are built from breaked granite and bricks. The main entrance to the castle lead through the carved portal, hidden under a porch, supported on two low columns. In front of the sideway entrance the are two lions carved in granite, which originated from the 12th century and potentionally associated with the sculptures from the nearby Ślęża mountain.