The Wysoki Kamień Shelter
Back in the times, when the first Walons wandered through the mountains in search for treasure, Wysoki Kamień was an orientation point and the birthplace of many legends.
In the early 19th century, during the development of tourism in Sudety, the Wysoki Kamień Shelter was visited by countless wanderers and patients from Świeradów-Zdrój. In 1837, the Schsffgotsch family from Świeradów-Zdrój, as the owners of the area at the time, built a wooden shelter at the top of the Wysoki Kamień Mountain.
Many famous guests visited this shelter over the years, most notably the Prussian king Fryderyk Wilhelm IV. In order to make this place even more attractive, a wooden pbservation tower was built in 1875. In the spring of 1882, the shleter was completely burned. The decision was made to rebuild it and the very same year, a new shelter went into construction, based on the experiences from the past.
After World War II, the shelter was robbed and devastated several times.
In 1996, after many years of awful events, the shelter was put on an auction and eventually sold to the Gołb family from Szklarska Poręba. Since that year, the times of hard work came along with the purpose of bringing the shelter to its former glory.