Zoo in Wrocław
The Zoological Garden in Wrocław (Zoo Wrocław) is located by Wróblewskiego 1-5 street in Wrocław, established on July 10th 1865. It is the oldest Zoo in Poland. The surface of this zoo is 33 hectares. By the end of 2015, The Zoological Garden in Wrocław was presenting more than 10 500 animals (excluding invertebrates) out of 1132 species (which makes it the third zoo in terms of the amount of species in the world). It is also the 5th most eagerly visited zoo in Europe, with a daily
record of daily entrances of 28 300 people.
The building infrastructure of the garden consists of several valuable objects, representing
the 19th century historicism and eclecticism. Most of the buildings from the period in which the zoo was created, were developed by architects Karl Schmidt and Albert Grau. These buildings including:
The big predator house – a brick building, built around 1874/75. Since its creation to today, big cats were exhibited here, but since the early 21st century most of them were moved to newer exhibits.
The elephant house – established in 1888. Apart from elephants, hippos and rhinos were also kept here, that’s why in the German times this place was named „the thick-skinned animal house”.
The 1889 bird pavilion, which still holds its original function today.
Ever since it was established in 1865, the Zoo only had 2 short breaks in its activity. It was closed between 1921 and may 1st 1927 because of the poverty of the city and the German country. It was also closed between april 1945 and July 18th 1948 because of the siege of Wrocław.