Podlaskie Museum in Bialystok

There are several museums in Bialystok. The biggest one is the Podlaskie Museum, located in the old Town-hall in Rynek Kosciuszki. It exhibits collections of archaeological and ethnographic treasures but, most importantly, the Gallery of Polish Read More »

Army Museum in Bialystok

The collections of the Army Museum in Bialystok include cold steel, firearm and protective arms, uniforms, Polish and foreign clothes, arms and military equipment of regular Polish and foreign insurrectionary and guerrilla units, flags and Read More »

Alfons Karny Museum of Sculpture in Bialystok

The collection of Alfons Karny’s sculptures is presented as a permanent exposition Alfons Karny – Opus Vitae’ and is owned by the Podlaskie Museum in Bialystok. The creation of the collection lasted for over forty years and is a valuable output Read More »

Town Hall in Bialystok

The Town Hall in Bialystok was build 1745 ( the central part of the building) and the tower and wings 1755-1761. Now the area near of the town hall is closed for cars and there are some cafe gardens. In the Town Hall there is a museum. After 8 Read More »

Saint Nicholas Orthodox Church in Bialystok

St. Nicholas the Wonderworker’s Orthodox Church is on Lipowa Street. It was built in 1843 – 1846 and replaced the previous orthodox church. The building features classical architecture was erected on a Greek Cross plan in Byzantine style Read More »

St. Roch’s Church in Bialystok

The parish church of Christ the King and St. Roch was erected on a hill between 1927 and 1946. It is one of the very first churches in the world built in a totally modern style. The building was designed by prof. Oskar Sosnowski and erected as a Read More »

Branicki Palace Complex in Bialystok

It is one of the most appealing historic buildings in Bialystok land, one of the best-preserved aristocratic residences from Saxon times in the area of the former Republic of Poland. Its current form originates from the times of Jan Klemens Read More »

Branicki Guest Palace in Bialystok

Branicki Guest Palace in Bialystok was built between 1766 and 1771 and was financed by Jan Klemens Branicki Foundation. Originally it was surrounded by a garden and was used as a residence, later as a catering facility. At the end of XIX century Read More »

Chaim Nowik Palace in Bialystok

The residence of Chaim Nowik – a manufacturer and the owner of the biggest XX century cloth and hat factory in Bialystok – was built between 1900 and 1910. It is a palace characterized by a sophisticated rotunda in its corner. Original Art Read More »

Bialystok Zoo in Bialystok

Bialystok Akcent Zoo is situated on the site of the old park “Zwierzyniec”, it was originally established in the 1960s. Initially the object was intended to function as a ZOO only temporarily. Unfortunately the planned “real zoological park” has Read More »

Jewish Heritage Trail in Bialystok

The project Jewish Heritage Trail in Bialystok has been implemented as an independent social initiative by a group of students and doctorate candidates, volunteers at The University of Bialystok Foundation, having professor Jerzy Nikitorowicz, Read More »

M7 Club

With regard to the interior architecture of M7 it is currently one of the most modern clubs in Poland. It has got originally designed interior with black, shiny glass and red sofas. The club also has got the chill-out section. Its interior Read More »

Lipowa Street

Its name derives from the row of linden trees planted along the street in the second half of the 18th century, then called Choroska street, later renamed to Nowolipie. At the beginning of the 20th century the street was already named Lipowa, Read More »

Hasbach’s Palace

One of the first factory owners from Łodz who decided to move to Bialystok in an effort to avoid the high duties placed on the goods imported into Russia was Ewald Hasbach. Next to the factory stood a villa and several smaller buildings. The Read More »

Becker’s Palace

Eugeniusz Becker came to Bialystok shortly after the arrival of Ewald Hasbach. In 1883 he began to purchase land located between Brudska street and Brzeska street, and to construct factory buildings there. In 1895 the statute of the Bialystok Read More »


The garden too resembles the surroundings of the residence of the “most just nobleman in Poland”. Many traces of the original composition of the garden can still be observed, hence it is treated as the best preserved baroque garden Read More »

Esperanto Trail

Esperanto appeared in Bialystok as a synthesis of the citys multiculturalism, multi-ethnicity, and what follows, many intermingling languages. Its creator, Ludwik Zamenhof, wanted to create a universal and neutral language. Esperanto was to be a Read More »

Ludwik Zamenhof Monument

A bust of Zamenhof was made by Jan Kucz in 1973. On the front of the column there is a text “Ludwik Lazarz Zamenhof 1859-1917”, on the reverse there is an engraved motto “Esperanto brings people closer”.  This place is important to the Read More »

The Monument of the Great Synagogue

It is an important testimony of the citys history. The monument, located in a former Jewish district Szulhof, commemorates the Great Synagogue and the tragic fate of about 700 Jews who were locked in it when it was burnt to the ground on the day Read More »

Empty basket