Archaeological Department in the Museum in Bydgoszcz
The beginnings of gathering the archaeological collections are connected with establishing the Notec Land Historical Association in Bydgoszcz in 1880. Most gathered historical items from the years 1880-1919 were gifts, accidental finds without any scientific documentation. Archaeological research in this period was often of amateur character. Archaeological works were conducted by both German and Polish researchers.
In the years 1920-1939, archaeological research was conducted in the burial ground from the Bronze Age in Bydgoszcz – Bielawy and on old ramparts in Zamczysko and Fordon. These works were continued after the war. Most historical items from the post-war period come from stationary archaeological research and have full scientific documentation. Besides stationary research, the Department of Archaeology conducted archaeological surface works for many years within the so-called Archaeological Photograph of Poland. For years, most research works have been concentrated in the Krajenska Plateau. The department collections amount to almost 19,000 artefacts. The most precious museum collections include: a collection of face urns from the early Iron Age, a 10th-century Viking sword from Lutowo, bone harpoon blades from Wiele, and a group of historical items from Zakrzewska Osada from the 2nd and 3rd centuries.
Address: 2 Mennica Street
Mondays – closed
Tuesdays – Fridays – 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Saturdays – Sundays – 11:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.