Arecheological Museum in Poznan
The origins of the Museum date back to September 23th, 1857 when the Department of Historical and Moral Sciences of the Poznan Society of the Friends of Sciences decided to establish the Museum of Polish and Slavic Antiquities. In 1923 the archaeological collections of this Museum were joined with a similar collection of the former Provincial Museum in Poznan (Kaiser-Friedrich Museum), founded by the Germans in 1894. From both collections an independent Department of the Wielkopolskie Museum was created with its own seat.
In 1945 the independent Prehistoric Museum was established which in 1950 changed its name to the present one. In 1967 the Museum received a new seat in the Gorka Palace, reconstructed after destruction in the war. The Gorka Palace was constructed around 1540 by the rearrangement of some neighbouring Gothic houses. Its original, Early Renaissance gate from 1548, inner yard with column gallery and two rooms on the second floor are still preserved. Architect unknown. Permanent exhibitions in Archaeological Museum in Poznan include prehistory of Greater Poland (the Poznan Region), origins of the Polish State, Ancient Egypt and archeology of the Sudan. Archaeological Museum in Poznan offers rich proposal for children, youth and adults, for amateurs and professionals: museum lessons, events or scientific conferences.
Address: 27 Wodna Street
Mondays – closed
Tuesdays – Thursdays – 9:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Fridays – Saturdays – 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Sundays – 1:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.