Graveyard of Distinguished Residents of Wielkopolska region
It is situated on the northern slope of St. Abelard’s Hill (Wzgorze Sw. Wojciecha) and spans the area of 1.8 ha covered with beautiful old trees. It is one of the oldest graveyards in Poznan which was established in 1810 as the cemetery of St. Mary Magdalene’s parish church. By the end of the 19th century, when the parish was granted a new cemetery at today’s Grunwaldzka Street, it was called an old parish graveyard.
It was transformed into the cemetery of distinguished residents in 1948. Near the main entrance, there is a Baroque sculpture of the Holy Mother (1771), moved in 1829 from the old monastery of the Order of the Friars Minor. Many sepulchral sculptures are of high artistic value. The monument of Aniela Dembinska (from the Liszkowski family), who died in 1888, is of interest; it was made in 1889 in Paris. The oldest gravestones date back to 1813 and 1815. The necropolis is the resting place of many distinguished residents of Poznan and Wielkopolska Region, veterans of Napoleonic wars and national uprisings, community workers, scientists and artists. The remains of many of them were moved here from other cemeteries in the years 1959-62. In 1994, Polish Tatra Society placed a stone commemorating “residents of Wielkopolska, who did not return from the mountains.” In the part of the necropolis situated lower, without tombstones, one can find remains of the victims of the plague, which repeatedly visited Poznan in the years 1831-78.