Morski Family Palace in Lublin
In the 19th century, a number of palaces with backyard gardens were located on Krakowskie Przedmiescie Street, in the vicinity of the Evangelical Church. One of the oldest was the Morski family palace from the late 18th century. The reconstruction of the palace ordered by Count Ignacy Moscicki turned it into a residential building. In 1846, the palace was purchased by an industrialist from Lublin of Scottish origin, Alexander Mac Leod. He decided to add two wings to the building. In 1898, the palace was purchased by the Commercial Bank of Lodz.
The Bank occupied the building until the beginning of the Second World War. During the Nazi occupation, the palace housed German county authorities. After the end of the Second World War, the palace was the seat of the Marxism-Leninism University. In the 1980s, the building housed a community health centre. In the first half of 1989, a part of the palace was occupied by the Citizens’ Committee – a branch of Lech Walesa’s presidential campaign headquarters before the presidential election of June 4, 1989. Currently, after a several-year gap, the palace is once again a seat of a bank – the Polish-Italian owned PeKaO S.A.
Address: 62 Krakowskie Przedmiescie