Museum in Bydgoszcz
The idea to establish a museum in Bydgoszcz was implemented only when the city had been taken over by Polish authorities. For the needs of the museum, the Municipality designated the building of the former Municipal Savings Bank in the Old Town Market Square under the number 2. As a result of co-operation of the organisers and the City Board, the new cultural institution – Municipal Museum – was opened on August 5, 1923. The museum’s first general manager was priest J. Klein.
The newly established Municipal Museum did not have abundant collections; these were first of all historical items from the fields of archaeology, history, numismatics and ethnography. After necessary adaptation works, the Municipal Museum named after Leon Wyczolkowski was officially opened on April 11, 1946. The museum in Bydgoszcz is an institution of many departments. When it was opened after the war, it had germs of four departments that with the passage of time were transformed into full departments. The first ones were the Departments of Polish Art, Leon Wyczolkowski and Archaeology. Only in late 1958 and early 1959, the Department of History was organised. In 1966, the Room of Numismatics was separated from the Department of History, and later was transformed into a separate department. In successive years, the Department of Graphic Art was separated from the Department of Art. The last two departments to be established were the Departments of Ethnography and Music. Such a structure has been existing up to this day. Additionally, the museum features departments and studios that facilitate the right functioning of the institution. These are the Departments of Education and Promotion, Inventory Control, Conservation, Library, as well as artistic and photographic studios.
Address: 4 Gdanska Street
Mondays – closed
Tuesdays – Fridays – 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Saturdays – Sundays – 11:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.