The Chapel of the Holy Trinity in Lublin
The Church of the Holy Trinity called the Chapel of Lublin Castle ranks among the most precious and interesting monuments of Medieval architecture not only in Poland but also in the European context. It is a relic where the two great cultural traditions of the East and the West meet and mingle. The interior of this Gothic chapel was covered in 1418 with magnificent Russo-Byzantine murals. The earliest mention of the chapel comes from 1326.
The Gothic chapel was erected in the second half of the 14th century. The church functioned as Chapel Royal in the 16th century it acquired a Renaissance portal and in the 17th century a gable on the front facade in the style of local Renaissance. It witnessed a number of momentous historical events, like the Union of Lublin in 1569. In early 19th century the chapel became part of the prison complex, and the mural paintings were covered with whitewash. In 1889 the frescoes were discovered by a local painter Jozef Smolinski who uncovered the donor scene. It was then that conservation work on the relic started and was continued for many years until its completion in 1997. Considering the difficulty of the undertaking and the scope of problems to be solved, it was a great achievement in conservation. The importance of the chapel was recognized by the European Community when in 1995 it granted funds to complete the final stage of the conservation under the program of preservation of European cultural heritage. The Chapel of the Holy Trinity, unique in European context, is a great attraction for specialists and lovers of historical relics who visit Lublin Castle.
Address: 9 Zamkowa Street
Mondays – closed
Tuesdays – Saturdays – 10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Sundays – 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.