The Kielce Synagogue
The idea of building a synagogue in Kielce arose in 1897. For that aim Moses Pfeffer donated 20000 rubles. The building was designed by the town architect, Stanislaw Szpakowski. The synagogue was built between 1902 and 1909.
At first the main and the only role of the temple was a place to pray for Jews. However, during World War II the Nazis desecrated it. Moreover, they turned it into a prison and storage facility for stolen Jewish property. In 1951 synagogue was renovated in order to serve as a State Archives. The original style of the building has changed, though. Only some details has been conservated, like similar style of attics above the cornice of a classical facade.
Address: 17 Warszawska Street