Places worth visiting in the surrounding of Wroclaw
„The mysterious Lower Silesia. You cannot describe it – you must see it!” – a few years, ago this was the slogan promoting the wonders of the region of Lower Silesia in southern Poland. Anyone, who ever visited this part of the country at least once and discovered its unique attractions can easily agree, that this slogan is absolutely true! If you’re interested in ancient castles and gorgeous nature, Lower Silesia is the perfect destination for you! Here are some of the attractions you cannot miss while visiting this marvelous region:
The Ksiaz castle
The Ksiaz castle is a castle complex located in the town of Walbrzych. This castle was first mentioned in historical documents on February 25th 1293. It might have been constructed from scratch, or as a result of the modernization of an earlier object. It most likely happened after 1291, because in the beginning of that year, prince Bolko I was still known as the lord of Lwowek, not the lord of Ksiaz.
The oldest surviving document dedicated directly to the Ksiaz castle originated from 1337 and it tells us about the pastures owned by Swiebodzice in the village of Pelcznica, located not far from the castle.
The castle was constructed within the picturesque forests, in the gorge of the river Pelcznica. It is located at the height of 395 meters above above the sea level. In its south-east part there is the upper castle, constructed on the plan of an oval.
The Cistercian Abbey in Lubiaz
The Cistercian Abbey in Lubiaz is a monastery complex in the town of Lubiaz and one of the greatest monuments in this class in Europe. This abbey is often called „the masterpiece of Silesian baroque”.
In the late 10th and early 11th century, a defensive castle was created on a high, moraine hill, which was probably destroyed around the year 1108. In 1150, a Benedictine monastery was established in its place. In 1163, prince Boleslaw Wysoki of Silesia brought the Cistercians from Schulpforte Turyngia.
Over the centuries, thanks to the princely and private shipments, the monastery becameone of the greatest land holders in Silesia. In 1200, the first church was established, in which prince Boleslaw Wysoki was buried the following year. During that period, the first monastery buildings were most likely constructed.
The Colorful Lakes
The Colorful Lakes are a
complex of four ponds, located at the foothills of Wielka Kopa, in
the town of Rudawy Janowickie. They were created in the place of
excavations of former German mines. The largest and the oldest of
those mines was named Hoffnung (1785 – the area of the Purple
Lake). The other mines are: Neues Gluck (1793 – the area of the
Blue Lake) and
Gustav Grube (1796 – the area of the Green Lake). The color of the lakes is determined by the chemical composition of the subsoil they are located on.
The ponds are located on various heights. The Yellow Lake, which dries up periodically, is located on the height of approximately 555 meters above the sea level, the Blue Lake (also known as Emerald or Azure) is situated on the height of 635 meters above the sea level, and the Green Lake – on the height of approx 730 meters above the sea level.
The Adrspach Rocky Town
The Adrspach Rocky Towm is a mountain massif located in the Central Sudetes mountain range, in the Czech Republic. It is part of the Stolowe Mountains, located to the south from the
Broumovska Valley, in close proximity to the village of Adrspach, in the north-east part of the Czech Republic.
For many years, people didn’t very much about „rocky towns”, which were located in the surroundings of Teplice and Adrsdpach. Local people seeked shelter here, when they felt threatened in their homes. It wasn’t until around 1700, when tourism pioneers began to come to Adrspach from Silesia.
Many important historical figures had the opportunity to admire the Adrspach Rocky Town, including queen Luiza of Prussia, king August II Mocny of Poland, emperor Karol I of Austria, Johann Wolfgang Goethe and many others.
The Church of Peace in Jawor
The Church of Peace in Jawor is a wooden, evangelical church located in the town of Jawor.
It was constructed between 1654 and 1655, based on a design by Albrecht von Sabisch. The building was constructed from perishable materials, such as wood, straw and clay. Visitors should pay special attention to the baroque-styled interior: the altar, the pulpit and the baptismal font.
At the northern and southern side there are four storeys of galleires, the window sills of which are ornamented with paintings ilustrating the Old and the New Testament.
This object stands out from the background of European art from the second half of the 17th century because of its uniqueness and high artistic values. It is one of three buildings known as „the Churches of Peace” constructed after the 30-year war and one of two that survived to modern day (the other one is in Swidnica).