Bialystok

Podlaskie Museum in Bialystok

There are several museums in Bialystok. The biggest one is the Podlaskie Museum, located in the old Town-hall in Rynek Kosciuszki. It exhibits collections of archaeological and ethnographic Read More »

Army Museum in Bialystok

The collections of the Army Museum in Bialystok include cold steel, firearm and protective arms, uniforms, Polish and foreign clothes, arms and military equipment of regular Polish and foreign Read More »

Museum of Motorization and Technology in Bialystok

The Museum of Motorization and Technology was opened in 2006 on the initiative of the Association of Lovers of Old Cars and Techniques. It embraces people passionate about old automotive industry Read More »

Alfons Karny Museum of Sculpture in Bialystok

The collection of Alfons Karny’s sculptures is presented as a permanent exposition Alfons Karny – Opus Vitae’ and is owned by the Podlaskie Museum in Bialystok. The creation of the collection Read More »

Town Hall in Bialystok

The Town Hall in Bialystok was build 1745 ( the central part of the building) and the tower and wings 1755-1761. Now the area near of the town hall is closed for cars and there are some cafe Read More »

The Podlasie Opera and Philharmonic in Bialystok

The Bialystok Symphony Orchestra was established in 1954. After twenty years of an artistic activity it received a status of Philharmonic and moved to a new concert hall. A professional concert Read More »

St. Mary’s Cathedral Basilica of the Assumption in Bialystok

St. Mary’s Cathedral Basilica of the Assumption was built in late Renaissance (the oldest brick building in Bialystok) with a baroque presbytery built in 1761. The old parish church was Read More »

Saint Nicholas Orthodox Church in Bialystok

St. Nicholas the Wonderworker’s Orthodox Church is on Lipowa Street. It was built in 1843 – 1846 and replaced the previous orthodox church. The building features classical architecture was Read More »

St. Roch’s Church in Bialystok

The parish church of Christ the King and St. Roch was erected on a hill between 1927 and 1946. It is one of the very first churches in the world built in a totally modern style. The building was Read More »

Branicki Palace Complex in Bialystok

It is one of the most appealing historic buildings in Bialystok land, one of the best-preserved aristocratic residences from Saxon times in the area of the former Republic of Poland. Its current Read More »

Branicki Guest Palace in Bialystok

Branicki Guest Palace in Bialystok was built between 1766 and 1771 and was financed by Jan Klemens Branicki Foundation. Originally it was surrounded by a garden and was used as a residence, later Read More »

Chaim Nowik Palace in Bialystok

The residence of Chaim Nowik – a manufacturer and the owner of the biggest XX century cloth and hat factory in Bialystok – was built between 1900 and 1910. It is a palace characterized by a Read More »

Bialystok Zoo in Bialystok

Bialystok Akcent Zoo is situated on the site of the old park “Zwierzyniec”, it was originally established in the 1960s. Initially the object was intended to function as a ZOO only temporarily. Read More »

Jewish Heritage Trail in Bialystok

The project Jewish Heritage Trail in Bialystok has been implemented as an independent social initiative by a group of students and doctorate candidates, volunteers at The University of Bialystok Read More »

M7 Club

With regard to the interior architecture of M7 it is currently one of the most modern clubs in Poland. It has got originally designed interior with black, shiny glass and red sofas. The club also Read More »

Lipowa Street

Its name derives from the row of linden trees planted along the street in the second half of the 18th century, then called Choroska street, later renamed to Nowolipie. At the beginning of the Read More »

Hasbach’s Palace

One of the first factory owners from Łodz who decided to move to Bialystok in an effort to avoid the high duties placed on the goods imported into Russia was Ewald Hasbach. Next to the factory Read More »

Becker’s Palace

Eugeniusz Becker came to Bialystok shortly after the arrival of Ewald Hasbach. In 1883 he began to purchase land located between Brudska street and Brzeska street, and to construct factory Read More »

Planty

The garden too resembles the surroundings of the residence of the “most just nobleman in Poland”. Many traces of the original composition of the garden can still be observed, hence it Read More »

Esperanto Trail

Esperanto appeared in Bialystok as a synthesis of the citys multiculturalism, multi-ethnicity, and what follows, many intermingling languages. Its creator, Ludwik Zamenhof, wanted to create a Read More »

Ludwik Zamenhof Monument

A bust of Zamenhof was made by Jan Kucz in 1973. On the front of the column there is a text “Ludwik Lazarz Zamenhof 1859-1917”, on the reverse there is an engraved motto “Esperanto brings people Read More »

The Monument of the Great Synagogue

It is an important testimony of the citys history. The monument, located in a former Jewish district Szulhof, commemorates the Great Synagogue and the tragic fate of about 700 Jews who were Read More »

The basket is empty