Church and Monastery of the Capuchin Order in Lublin
The SS. Peter and Paul church and monastery complex in Lublin was founded by Karol Sanguszko, the Court and Grand Marshal of Lithuania, and his wife – Maria Anna, nee Lubomirska. They owned the nearby Lubomirski family palace, situated at Lithuanian Square in Lublin. Following the purchase of a land plot on Krakowskie Przedmiescie, they decided to erect a sacral complex there. The construction of the church and monastery complex began in 1726 and ended in 1733. It was supervised by an architect from Warsaw, Karol Bay.
The church had a modest, typically “Capuchin” style architectural layout. The form of the church reflects the characteristic features of the so-called Tuscan Baroque. The classicist-style facade is topped with a triangle-shaped peak. In its centre, there is an oculus with the Eye of Providence. Below, there is a painting of Saint Francis of Assisi by the Crucified Jesus. On both sides of the frontage, there are statues of SS. Peter and Paul, patrons saints of the Church of Rome. In the nave, there is a Baroque main altar with a painting depicting patron saints of the church. A painting “Dream of Leszek the Black” can be found in the sacristy. It is a reference to a well-known Lublin legend. In the 2nd half of the 19th century, a neo-Gothic chapel of the Rosary Fraternity was built on the east side of the church. The whole parcel belonged to the order until 1864. In 1864, the Russian authorities requisitioned it and decided to use it for secular purposes. However, the church and the monastery remained untouched. That was one of many punishments for the participation of the Capuchin Order in the January Uprising. A state archive was established in the monastery, and one of the monks was a civilian leader of the uprising.
Address: 42 Krakowskie Przedmiescie