Museum of Warmia and Mazuria in Olsztyn
The museum, opened in July 1921, has been located at the 14th century Gothic castle of the Warmian Chapter. In post-war times, since 1945,the Museum functioned as “Mazuria Museum” and in 1975 changed its name to “Museum of Warmia and Mazuria”. Initially, its collection compassed plebiscite-ethnographic regional items, nowadays it houses a fine collection containing exhibits of regional history, archeology,numismatics, art, fine artistic craft, writing and folk culture.
The Gallery highlights include collection of Gothic sculpture, sacred Warmian painting, Dutch portrait painting, tin and brass craft work and modern graphics. The pieces are beautifully displayed in medieval interiors,which in the years 1516–1521 used to serve the administrator of the goods of the Warmian Chapter – Nicolaus Copernicus. Up till now, on the wall of the castle gallery, there is a unique reminder of his stay – a handmade experimental astronomical table from the year 1517. The Museum library boasts also medical incunabula used by that outstanding astronomer.
Address: 2 Zamkowa Street
Mondays – closed
Tuesdays – 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Wednesdays – 9:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.
Thursdays – Sundays – 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.