The Museum of Stefan Zeromski’s School Years in Kielce
The Museum is located in the part of the school building which history started during the reign of Augustus II. Here, in the years 1874-1886 the biggest writer of this region – Stefan Zeromski- was studying. In the spring 1724 in the Cracow Suburb, close to the Saint Trinity church, the school was started to build. Initiator of that action was Cracow bishop. First students started their education there on 4th September 1727. The school was run by priests from „Communis Vitae” Institute.
History of Poland had huge influence on the school activity. There were some changes in its names as well as in the education scheme. In 1962 the school was moved to the new premises in 15 Sciegienny Street and has been active till the present day. Nowadays it is called by its the most famous student – Stefan Zeromski. When the school was moved to the new location, old, needing renovation building did not have any use then. As the anniversary of the Stefan Zeromski’s 100th birthday was coming, Alekasndra Dobrowolska, a curator in the Swietokrzyskie Museum, suggested creating literary museum in that place. She had already had some experience in organizing exhibitions devoted to famous writers – Henryk Sienkiewicz , Jan Kochanowski and Stefan Zeromski. Preparations and purchase of exhibits lasted till 28th June 1965. Since that time former school building has been full of life.
Address: 5 Jana Pawla II Street
Mondays, Saturdays – closed
Tuesdays – 9:00 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.
Wednesdays – 11:00 a.m. – 5:30 p.m.
Thursdays – Fridays – 9:00 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.
Sundays – 9:00 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.