Zamosc Synagogue is one of the most beautiful Jewish temples built in Poland in the Renaissance. It was erected about 1610 in the Renaissance style and its main part is a large prayer hall (11.5 m x 12.2 m). A lofty dome with moulded ribs constitutes the vault. In the 17th century two buildings for women were added. The synagogue sustained severe damage during World War II: the northern part of the building for women was damaged and the southern building destroyed completely. All the liturgical accessories were removed from the synagogue.
After the end of the war the building underwent a thorough renovation and the southern building for women was rebuilt. In the 1970s the attics were reconstructed, stucco work was restored and polychrome decorations were uncovered. From half of XX century Synagogue was reconstructed and renovated and in 1958 year became a seat of public library. In March in 2005 year the library was moved and the building was return to Jewish community and two months later after renovation it was provided to visitors. One year later were unveiled Jewish commemorative plagues who were inhabitants of Zamosc. In 2008 year when all documents were collected and after decision about entry on list of co-financed from international organizations and in March was began a renovation.
Address: 9 Zamenhofa Street