Radzyn Podlaski is a town in the lubelskie region. It is historically located in Lesser Poland, in lukowska land, since the 19th century this area was also known as the southern Podlasie.
Before the late 14th century, the areas neighboring with the lands of the Lithuanian-Russian country and Jacwieza were exposed for continuous attacks, which didn’t quite promote permanent settlement. It wasn’t until Wladyslaw Jagiello took over the country and after the 1385
Polish-Lithuanian union in Krewo that the situation began to change.
In the early 15th century, king Wladyslaw Jagiello gave the emptiness upon the river Bialka to Kozietula and Łoś. Later, the Cebulkowie family established two villages – Wyzna Bialka and Nizna Bialka. In the mid-15th century the Cebulkowie family founded a wooden church at Kozirynek Stary, which was described by Jan Długosz. Apart from a local parish church, which was erected by the Cracow Bishop Zbigniew Oleśnicki, there was also an orthodox church under the calling of St. George. The mentions of this church originated in 1458 and 1531. Between 1741 and the late 18th century Radzyn was owned by the Potocki family. General Eustachy Potocki founded a rococo palace, which was designed and built by Jakub Fontana.
Nowadays. Radzyn already has its own mills and distillery, a perfumery and lumbermills.
Some of the most significant monuments of Radzyn Podlaski include:
The Holy Trinity Church – located at the intersection of Ostrowiecka and Jana Pawla II streets, this church was founded by the Mniszech family, who were renting the wealth of Radzyn from the
mid-16th century to the mid-17th century.
The orangery – this palace orangery, which is located in a local park, is considered one of the most beautiful buildings of its type in Poland. This is another building created by Jakub Fontana.
The Old Jewis Cemetery
The New Jewish Cemetery
The Szlubowski Palace, which is also known as the „Grubernia”